WEHC BOSTON 2018

World Economic History Congress. Boston 2018

Accepted Proposals with Call for Papers open

Panels below have CfPs open. Show all accepted proposals

  • Applied microhistory: Theoretical, ethical and methodological issues.

    2nd round proposal
    • Giovanni Favero (Università Ca' Foscari Venezia)
    • Paola Lanaro (Università Ca' Foscari Venezia)

    This panel has Call for Papers open.
    If you are interested in participating, please contact the panel organizer(s) to submit a proposal.

    • Giovanni Favero, Università Ca' Foscari Venezia, gfavero@unive.it, Italy
    • Paola Lanaro, Università Ca' Foscari Venezia, lanaro@unive.it, Italy
  • Banks and Capital Markets: Engines of Growth or Societal Destabilizers?

    2nd round proposal
    • Chris L Colvin (Queen's University Belfast)
    • Richard S Grossman (Wesleyan University)
    • John D Turner (Queen's University Belfast)

    This panel has Call for Papers open.
    If you are interested in participating, please contact the panel organizer(s) to submit a proposal.

    • Chris L Colvin, Queen's University Belfast, chris.colvin@qub.ac.uk, Northern Ireland
    • Richard S Grossman, Wesleyan University, rgrossman@wesleyan.edu, USA
    • John D Turner, Queen's University Belfast, j.turner@qub.ac.uk, Northern Ireland
  • Behind the Iron Curtain: Waves of Globalization in Historiography of Economic History

    • Antonie Doležalová (Robinson College, Cambridge University & Charles University, Prague)

    This panel has Call for Papers open.
    If you are interested in participating, please contact the panel organizer(s) to submit a proposal.

    • Antonie Doležalová, Robinson College, Cambridge University & Charles University, Prague, antonie.dolezalova@gmail.com, Czech Republic
  • Centennial Enterprises as Sources of Innovation in Emerging Economies

    2nd round proposal
    • Denggao LONG (Tsinghua University)
    • Morris L. BIAN (Auburn University)
    • Pierre van der Eng (Australian National University)

    This panel has Call for Papers open.
    If you are interested in participating, please contact the panel organizer(s) to submit a proposal.

    • Denggao LONG, Tsinghua University, yiw14@mails.tsinghua.edu.cn, China
    • Morris L. BIAN, Auburn University, bianmor@auburn.edu, USA
    • Pierre van der Eng, Australian National University, Pierre.VanDerEng@anu.edu.au, Australia
  • Colonial financial markets in the long 18th century: a source of underdevelopment?

    2nd round proposal
    • Christie C Swanepoel (University of Western Cape)
    • Alberto HA Feenstra (University of Amsterdam)
    • Farley F Grubb (University of Delaware)

    This panel has Call for Papers open.
    If you are interested in participating, please contact the panel organizer(s) to submit a proposal.

    • Christie C Swanepoel, University of Western Cape, cswanepoel@uwc.ac.za, South Africa
    • Alberto HA Feenstra, University of Amsterdam, H.A.Feenstra@uva.nl, Netherlands
    • Farley F Grubb, University of Delaware, grubbf@udel.edu , United States
  • Economic interactions between the Baltic Sea Region and other parts of the world: Economic Relations from pre-WWI to the Present

    2nd round proposal
    • Viesturs P. Karnups (University of Latvia)

    This panel has Call for Papers open.
    If you are interested in participating, please contact the panel organizer(s) to submit a proposal.

    • Viesturs P. Karnups, University of Latvia, viesturspauls@gmail.com, Latvia
  • EXCHANGE RATES, GROWTH AND CONVERGENCE IN HISTORICAL PERSPECTIVE

    2nd round proposal
    • Jonas Ljungberg (Lund University)
    • Olga Christodoulaki (vacant)
    • Germán Forero-Laverde (Universidad de Barcelona/Universidad Externado de Colombia)
    • André Villela (Graduate School of Economics/Fundação Getulio Vargas, Rio de Janeiro)
    • Pierre van der Eng (Australian National University,Canberra/ Tsinghua University, Beijing)

    This panel has Call for Papers open.
    If you are interested in participating, please contact the panel organizer(s) to submit a proposal.

    • Jonas Ljungberg, Lund University, jonas.ljungberg@ekh.lu.se, Sweden
    • Olga Christodoulaki , vacant, chr_olga@otenet.gr, Greece
    • Germán Forero-Laverde, Universidad de Barcelona/Universidad Externado de Colombia, german.forero@gmail.com, Spain
    • André Villela, Graduate School of Economics/Fundação Getulio Vargas, Rio de Janeiro, andre.villela@fgv.br, Brazil
    • Pierre van der Eng, Australian National University,Canberra/ Tsinghua University, Beijing, pierre.vandereng@anu.edu.au, Australia
  • Experience and Expectations in the age of globalization

    2nd round proposal
    • Alexander Nützenadel (Humboldt University, Berlin )
    • Streb Jochen (University of Mannheim)
    • Mark Jakob (Humboldt University, Berlin )

    This panel has Call for Papers open.
    If you are interested in participating, please contact the panel organizer(s) to submit a proposal.

    • Alexander Nützenadel, Humboldt University, Berlin , nuetzenadel@geschichte.hu-berlin.de, Germany
    • Streb Jochen, University of Mannheim, streb@uni-mannheim.de, Germany
    • Mark Jakob, Humboldt University, Berlin , mark.jakob@hu-berlin.de, Germany
  • Exploring the institutional turn in in transport and communication history. Comparative aspects of the regulated economy of transport, communication, and information technology, 1850-2000

    2nd round proposal
    • Lena Andersson-Skog (Umeå University,Sweden)
    • Jan H Ottosson (Uppsala University, Sweden)

    This panel has Call for Papers open.
    If you are interested in participating, please contact the panel organizer(s) to submit a proposal.

    • Lena Andersson-Skog, Umeå University,Sweden, lena.andersson-skog@ekhist.umu.se, Sweden
    • Jan H Ottosson, Uppsala University, Sweden, jan.ottosson@ekhist.uu.se, Sweden
  • Expropriated Peasants. Rural credit, indebtedness and land seizure in the Middle Ages

    2nd round proposal
    • Antoni Furio (University of Valencia)
    • Phillipp R Schofield (Aberystwyth University)

    This panel has Call for Papers open.
    If you are interested in participating, please contact the panel organizer(s) to submit a proposal.

    • Antoni Furio, University of Valencia, antoni.furio@uv.es, Spain
    • Phillipp R Schofield, Aberystwyth University, prs@aber.ac.uk, UK
  • Female political institutions in Sub-Saharan Africa

    2nd round proposal
    • Sophia du Plessis (Stellenbosch University)

    This panel has Call for Papers open.
    If you are interested in participating, please contact the panel organizer(s) to submit a proposal.

    • Sophia du Plessis, Stellenbosch University, sophia@sun.ac.za, South Africa
  • Financial centers, agents and transactions on the long run. Towards a multidimensional approach and tools of analysis

    2nd round proposal
    • Elisa Grandi (Paris School of Economics)
    • Paul Lagneau-Ymonet (Paris-Dauphine, PSL Research University, IRISSO)

    This panel has Call for Papers open.
    If you are interested in participating, please contact the panel organizer(s) to submit a proposal.

    • Elisa Grandi, Paris School of Economics, elisa.grandi@psemail.eu, Italy
    • Paul Lagneau-Ymonet, Paris-Dauphine, PSL Research University, IRISSO, paul.lagneau-ymonet@dauphine.fr, France
  • Financial Markets in troubled times

    2nd round proposal
    • Angelo Riva (European Business School Paris & Paris School of Economics)
    • Caroline Fohlin (Emory University)
    • Raphaël Hekimian (Paris School of Economics)

    This panel has Call for Papers open.
    If you are interested in participating, please contact the panel organizer(s) to submit a proposal.

    • Angelo Riva, European Business School Paris & Paris School of Economics, angeloriva@ebs-paris.com,
    • Caroline Fohlin, Emory University, caroline.fohlin@emory.edu,
    • Raphaël Hekimian , Paris School of Economics, raphael.hekimian@psemail.eu,
  • Foreign Multinational Enterprises in Australia

    2nd round proposal
    • Simon Ville (University of Wollongong)
    • David Merrett (University of Melbourne)

    This panel has Call for Papers open.
    If you are interested in participating, please contact the panel organizer(s) to submit a proposal.

    • Simon Ville, University of Wollongong, sville@uow.edu.au, Australia
    • David Merrett, University of Melbourne, dtm@unimelb.edu.au, Australia
  • Global contacts, Numeracy and Human Capital: The effects of Trade and Migration

    • Joerg J.B. Baten (University of Tuebingen)
    • Gabriele G.C. Cappelli (Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona)

    This panel has Call for Papers open.
    If you are interested in participating, please contact the panel organizer(s) to submit a proposal.

    • Joerg J.B. Baten, University of Tuebingen, joerg.baten@uni-tuebingen.de,
    • Gabriele G.C. Cappelli, Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona, Gabriele.Cappelli@eui.eu,
  • Global Imbalances and the Burden of Adjustment in Historical Perspective

    • Catherine R Schenk (University of Oxford)
    • Atish Ghosh (International Monetary Fund)

    This panel has Call for Papers open.
    If you are interested in participating, please contact the panel organizer(s) to submit a proposal.

    • Catherine R Schenk, University of Oxford, catherine.schenk@history.ox.ac.uk,
    • Atish Ghosh, International Monetary Fund, agosh@imf.org,
  • Globalization, Inequality and Long-Term Development in Southeast Asia

    2nd round proposal
    • Pim de Zwart (Wageningen University)
    • Montserrat Lopez Jerez (Lund University)

    This panel has Call for Papers open.
    If you are interested in participating, please contact the panel organizer(s) to submit a proposal.

    • Pim de Zwart, Wageningen University, pim.dezwart@wur.nl, Netherlands
    • Montserrat Lopez Jerez , Lund University, montserrat.lopez_jerez@ace.lu.se, Sweden
  • Historical perspectives of inequality in the Eastern Mediterranean

    2nd round proposal
    • Ulas Karakoc (Humboldt University Berlin)
    • Alexandros Apostolides (European University Cyprus)

    This panel has Call for Papers open.
    If you are interested in participating, please contact the panel organizer(s) to submit a proposal.

    • Ulas Karakoc, Humboldt University Berlin, ulas.karakoc@hu-berlin.de, Germany
    • Alexandros Apostolides, European University Cyprus, A.Apostolides@euc.ac.cy, Cyprus
  • Interactive economic history workshop: usable systems for diverse data

    2nd round proposal
    • Peter B Meyer (U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics)
    • Ellan F Spero (Independent Scholar)
    • Richard L Zijdeman (International Institute of Social History and University of Stirling)

    This panel has Call for Papers open.
    If you are interested in participating, please contact the panel organizer(s) to submit a proposal.

    • Peter B Meyer, U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, meyer.peter@bls.gov, USA
    • Ellan F Spero, Independent Scholar, efs8@mit.edu, USA
    • Richard L Zijdeman, International Institute of Social History and University of Stirling, richard.zijdeman@iisg.nl, Netherlands
  • INTERNATIONAL FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS: MULTILATERAL INVESTMENT AND DEVELOPMENT BANKS SINCE SECOND WORLD WAR

    • Daniel Díaz Fuentes (University of Cantabria)
    • Judith Clifton (University of Cantabria)
    • David Howarth (University of Luxembourg)

    This panel has Call for Papers open.
    If you are interested in participating, please contact the panel organizer(s) to submit a proposal.

    • Daniel Díaz Fuentes , University of Cantabria, daniel.diaz@unican.es,
    • Judith Clifton, University of Cantabria, judith.clifton@unican.es,
    • David Howarth, University of Luxembourg, david.howarth@uni.lu,
  • Lessons from Insurance History: Markets, Regulation and Globalization

    2nd round proposal
    • Monica Keneley (Deakin University)
    • Jerònia Pons Pons (University of Seville)

    This panel has Call for Papers open.
    If you are interested in participating, please contact the panel organizer(s) to submit a proposal.

    • Monica Keneley, Deakin University, mkeneley@deakin.edu.au, Australia
    • Jerònia Pons Pons , University of Seville, jpons@us.es, Spain
  • Open Economy Forces and the Welfare State – Investigating the Links between Globalization and Social Spending

    2nd round proposal
    • Henric Häggqvist (Uppsala University, Department of Economic History)

    This panel has Call for Papers open.
    If you are interested in participating, please contact the panel organizer(s) to submit a proposal.

    • Henric Häggqvist, Uppsala University, Department of Economic History, henric.haggqvist@ekhist.uu.se, Sweden
  • Real Wages across the Globe: From Antiquity to the Present

    2nd round proposal
    • Robert C Allen (NYU Abu Dhabi)
    • Jan Luiten van Zanden (Utrecht University)
    • Pim de Zwart (Wageningen University)
    • Michail Moatsos (Utrecht University)

    This panel has Call for Papers open.
    If you are interested in participating, please contact the panel organizer(s) to submit a proposal.

    • Robert C Allen, NYU Abu Dhabi, bob.allen@nyu.edu, United Arab Emirates
    • Jan Luiten van Zanden, Utrecht University, j.l.vanzanden@uu.nl, Netherlands
    • Pim de Zwart, Wageningen University, pim.dezwart@wur.nl, Netherlands
    • Michail Moatsos, Utrecht University, m.moatsos@uu.nl, Netherlands
  • The Development of Wellbeing in History: What can we learn from Summary Indicators?

    • Joost Veenstra (University of Groningen)
    • Leandro Prados de la Escosura (Carlos III University of Madrid )
    • Daniel Gallardo Albarrán (University of Groningen)

    This panel has Call for Papers open.
    If you are interested in participating, please contact the panel organizer(s) to submit a proposal.

    • Joost Veenstra, University of Groningen, j.veenstra@rug.nl,
    • Leandro Prados de la Escosura, Carlos III University of Madrid , leandro.prados.delaescosura@uc3m.es,
    • Daniel Gallardo Albarrán, University of Groningen, d.gallardo.albarran@rug.nl,
  • The Economic History of the Sports Sector

    2nd round proposal
    • John K Wilson (University of South Australia)
    • Richard Pomfret (University of Adelaide)

    This panel has Call for Papers open.
    If you are interested in participating, please contact the panel organizer(s) to submit a proposal.

    • John K Wilson, University of South Australia, john.wilson@unisa.edu.au, Australia
    • Richard Pomfret, University of Adelaide, richard.pomfret@adelaide.edu.au, Australia
  • The Economics of Nationalism in Historical Perspective

    2nd round proposal
    • Nikolaus Wolf (Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin)
    • Felix Kersting (Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin)

    This panel has Call for Papers open.
    If you are interested in participating, please contact the panel organizer(s) to submit a proposal.

    • Nikolaus Wolf, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, nikolaus.wolf@wiwi.hu-berlin.de, Germany
    • Felix Kersting, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, f.kersting@hu-berlin.de, Germany
  • The Euromarket and the origins of the financial globalisation, 1957~1973

    • Martin Daunton (University of Cambridge)
    • Youssef Cassis (European University Institute)
    • Edoardo Altamura (University of Geneva)
    • Seung Woo Kim (University of Cambridge)

    This panel has Call for Papers open.
    If you are interested in participating, please contact the panel organizer(s) to submit a proposal.

    • Martin Daunton, University of Cambridge, mjd42@cam.ac.uk,
    • Youssef Cassis, European University Institute, youssef.cassis@eui.eu,
    • Edoardo Altamura, University of Geneva, edoardo.altamura@unige.ch,
    • Seung Woo Kim, University of Cambridge, swk26@cam.ac.uk,
  • The globalization of the waves: shipping and its role in promoting global markets for goods, services, capital, labor, and ideas, c. 1800—2000

    2nd round proposal
    • Stig Tenold (Norwegian School of Economics)
    • Jari Ojala (University of Jyväskylä)
    • Pirita Frigren (University of Jyväskylä)
    • Jelle van Lottum (Huygens Institute for the history of the Netherlands)

    This panel has Call for Papers open.
    If you are interested in participating, please contact the panel organizer(s) to submit a proposal.

    • Stig Tenold, Norwegian School of Economics, stig.tenold@nhh.no, Norway
    • Jari Ojala, University of Jyväskylä, jari.ojala@jyu.fi, Finland
    • Pirita Frigren, University of Jyväskylä, pirita.frigren@jyu.fi, Finland
    • Jelle van Lottum, Huygens Institute for the history of the Netherlands, jelle.van.lottum@huygens.knaw.nl, The Netherlands
  • The institutional foundations of long-distance trade before industrialization

    2nd round proposal
    • Daniel Strum (University of São Paulo)
    • Yadira González-de-Lara (University of Valencia)
    • Esther Sahle (University of Bremen)

    This panel has Call for Papers open.
    If you are interested in participating, please contact the panel organizer(s) to submit a proposal.

    • Daniel Strum, University of São Paulo, danistrum@gmail.com, Brazil
    • Yadira González-de-Lara, University of Valencia, yadira.gonzalezdelara@gmail.com, Spain
    • Esther Sahle, University of Bremen, sahle@uni-bremen.de, Germany
  • The new economic history of patents and innovation

    2nd round proposal
    • Michelangelo Vasta (University of Siena)
    • Jochen Streb (University of Mannheim)
    • Alessandro Nuvolari (Sant'Anna School of Advanced Studies - Pisa)

    This panel has Call for Papers open.
    If you are interested in participating, please contact the panel organizer(s) to submit a proposal.

    • Michelangelo Vasta, University of Siena, vasta@unisi.it, Italy
    • Jochen Streb, University of Mannheim, streb@uni-mannheim.de, Germany
    • Alessandro Nuvolari, Sant'Anna School of Advanced Studies - Pisa, alessandro.nuvolari@santannapisa.it, Italy
  • The Pan-European Crises of 1719-1720: New Perspectives on the Nature of Financial Behaviour

    2nd round proposal
    • Koji Yamamoto (University of Tokyo)
    • Anne Murphy (University of Hertfordshire)
    • Inger Leemans (University of Amsterdam)

    This panel has Call for Papers open.
    If you are interested in participating, please contact the panel organizer(s) to submit a proposal.

    • Koji Yamamoto, University of Tokyo, koji4649@gmail.com, Japan
    • Anne Murphy, University of Hertfordshire, a.l.murphy@herts.ac.uk , UK
    • Inger Leemans, University of Amsterdam, i.b.leemans@vu.nl, The Netherlands
  • Tropical economies in the making of the modern world

    2nd round proposal
    • Kazuo Kobayashi (University of Tokyo)
    • Ryuto Shimada (University of Tokyo)

    This panel has Call for Papers open.
    If you are interested in participating, please contact the panel organizer(s) to submit a proposal.

    • Kazuo Kobayashi, University of Tokyo, k.kobayashi2030@gmail.com,
    • Ryuto Shimada, University of Tokyo, shimada@l.u-tokyo.ac.jp,
  • Weaving links: Cloth production, trade and consumption in the Renaissance Mediterranean

    2nd round proposal
    • Ingrid Houssaye Michienzi (French National Center for Scientific Research (CNRS)-UMR 8167 Orient & Méditerranée)
    • Dominique Cardon (French National Center for Scientific Research (CNRS)-CIHAM UMR 5648 (Lyon))

    This panel has Call for Papers open.
    If you are interested in participating, please contact the panel organizer(s) to submit a proposal.

    • Ingrid Houssaye Michienzi, French National Center for Scientific Research (CNRS)-UMR 8167 Orient & Méditerranée, houssayeingrid@gmail.com,
    • Dominique Cardon, French National Center for Scientific Research (CNRS)-CIHAM UMR 5648 (Lyon), cardon.dominique@wanadoo.fr,