WEHC BOSTON 2018

World Economic History Congress. Boston 2018

Accepted Proposals with Call for Papers open

Panels below have CfPs open. Show all accepted proposals

  • Colonial financial markets in the long 18th century: a source of underdevelopment?

    2nd round proposal
    • Christie C Swanepoel (University of Western Cape)
    • Alberto HA Feenstra (University of Amsterdam)
    • Farley F Grubb (University of Delaware)

    This panel has Call for Papers open.
    If you are interested in participating, please contact the panel organizer(s) to submit a proposal.

    • Christie C Swanepoel, University of Western Cape, cswanepoel@uwc.ac.za, South Africa
    • Alberto HA Feenstra, University of Amsterdam, H.A.Feenstra@uva.nl, Netherlands
    • Farley F Grubb, University of Delaware, grubbf@udel.edu , United States
  • Consumers and retailers in the countryside – Europe/North America, 18th to mid 20th century

    • Béatrice Craig (University of Ottawa/department of history)
    • Jon Stobart (Manchester Metropolitan University)
    • Corinne Marache (Department of History-University of Bordeaux-Montaigne)
    • Galina Ulianova (Institute of Russian History, Russian Academy of Sciences, Moscow)

    This panel has Call for Papers open.
    If you are interested in participating, please contact the panel organizer(s) to submit a proposal.

    • Béatrice Craig , University of Ottawa/department of history, bcraig@uottawa.ca, Canada
    • Jon Stobart, Manchester Metropolitan University, jstobart@mmu.ac.uk, UK
    • Corinne Marache , Department of History-University of Bordeaux-Montaigne, corinne.marache@u-bordeaux-montaigne.fr, Fr
    • Galina Ulianova, Institute of Russian History, Russian Academy of Sciences, Moscow, galina.ulianova@gmail.com, Russia
  • Coping with crisis: labor market, public policies and household economy. A comparative perspective on unequally industrialized regions from the mid-18th century to the interwar period (Mediterranean Europe, Central and Southern America)

    • Cristina Borderias (University of Barcelona)
    • Aurora Gómez Galvarriato (El Colegio de México)
    • Manuela Martini (University of Lyon 2)

    This panel has Call for Papers open.
    If you are interested in participating, please contact the panel organizer(s) to submit a proposal.

    • Cristina Borderias, University of Barcelona, cborderias@movistar.es, Spain
    • Aurora Gómez Galvarriato, El Colegio de México, aurorag@icloud.com, México
    • Manuela Martini, University of Lyon 2, manuela.martini3@gmail.com, France
  • Exploring the institutional turn in in transport and communication history. Comparative aspects of the regulated economy of transport, communication, and information technology, 1850-2000

    2nd round proposal
    • Lena Andersson-Skog (Umeå University,Sweden)
    • Jan Ottosson (Uppsala University, Sweden)

    This panel has Call for Papers open.
    If you are interested in participating, please contact the panel organizer(s) to submit a proposal.

    • Lena Andersson-Skog, Umeå University,Sweden, lena.andersson-skog@ekhist.umu.se, Sweden
    • Jan Ottosson, Uppsala University, Sweden, jan.ottosson@ekhist.uu.se, Sweden
  • Historical perspectives of inequality in the Eastern Mediterranean

    2nd round proposal
    • Ulas Karakoc (Humboldt University Berlin)

    This panel has Call for Papers open.
    If you are interested in participating, please contact the panel organizer(s) to submit a proposal.

    • Ulas Karakoc, Humboldt University Berlin, ulas.karakoc@hu-berlin.de, Germany
  • Interactive economic history workshop: usable systems for diverse data

    2nd round proposal
    • Peter B Meyer (U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics)
    • Ellan F Spero (École polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL))
    • Richard L Zijdeman (International Institute of Social History and University of Stirling)

    This panel has Call for Papers open.
    If you are interested in participating, please contact the panel organizer(s) to submit a proposal.

    • Peter B Meyer, U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, meyer.peter@bls.gov, USA
    • Ellan F Spero, École polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL), efs8_at_mit.edu, Switzerland/USA
    • Richard L Zijdeman, International Institute of Social History and University of Stirling, richard.zijdeman@iisg.nl, Netherlands
  • INTERNATIONAL FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS: MULTILATERAL INVESTMENT AND DEVELOPMENT BANKS SINCE WORLD WAR II

    • Daniel Díaz Fuentes (University of Cantabria)
    • Judith Clifton (University of Cantabria)
    • David Howarth (University of Luxembourg)

    This panel has Call for Papers open.
    If you are interested in participating, please contact the panel organizer(s) to submit a proposal.

    • Daniel Díaz Fuentes , University of Cantabria, daniel.diaz@unican.es,
    • Judith Clifton, University of Cantabria, judith.clifton@unican.es,
    • David Howarth, University of Luxembourg, david.howarth@uni.lu,
  • Open Economy Forces and the Welfare State – Investigating the Links between Globalization and Social Spending

    2nd round proposal
    • Henric Häggqvist (Uppsala University, Department of Economic History)

    This panel has Call for Papers open.
    If you are interested in participating, please contact the panel organizer(s) to submit a proposal.

    • Henric Häggqvist, Uppsala University, Department of Economic History, henric.haggqvist@ekhist.uu.se, Sweden
  • The commercial and industrial activities of central banks, 1914-2014

    • Catherine Schenk (University of Glasgow)
    • Valerio Cerretano (University of Glasgow)

    This panel has Call for Papers open.
    If you are interested in participating, please contact the panel organizer(s) to submit a proposal.

    • Catherine Schenk, University of Glasgow, catherine.schenk@glasgow.ac.uk, UK
    • Valerio Cerretano, University of Glasgow, valerio.cerretano@glasgow.ac.uk, UK
  • The Economic History of the Sports Sector

    2nd round proposal
    • John K Wilson (University of South Australia)
    • Richard Pomfret (University of Adelaide)

    This panel has Call for Papers open.
    If you are interested in participating, please contact the panel organizer(s) to submit a proposal.

    • John K Wilson, University of South Australia, john.wilson@unisa.edu.au, Australia
    • Richard Pomfret, University of Adelaide, richard.pomfret@adelaide.edu.au, Australia
  • The Path of China’s Development in Global Perspective

    2nd round proposal
    • Se Yan (Peking University)
    • Li Zhang (Beihang University)
    • Xuejun Zhao (Chinese Academy of Social Sciences)

    This panel has Call for Papers open.
    If you are interested in participating, please contact the panel organizer(s) to submit a proposal.

    • Se Yan, Peking University, seyan@gsm.pku.edu.cn, China
    • Li Zhang, Beihang University, lzhague@yahoo.com, China
    • Xuejun Zhao, Chinese Academy of Social Sciences, zhao_xj@cass.org.cn, China