Proposal preview

Historical perspectives of inequality in the Eastern Mediterranean

Economic inequality has been increasingly in the focus of academic and public interest in the last decade. The patterns of income distribution across time and space since the Industrial Revolution have mostly been studied with reference to the European and North American economies, while the periphery of the world economy is yet to be integrated into this recent research stream. The development of the Eastern Mediterranean economies (broadly defined as the region containing Greece, Western Anatolia, Cyprus, Lebanon, Palestine and Israel, and Egypt) was heavily characterized by the integration with the world economy through exports of primary goods in the long nineteenth century and later starting from the interwar period the inward-oriented policies and state-led industrialization. The proposed session will explore how the patterns of inequality between groups and regions changed in relation to trade, ethnicity, geography, as well as the access to public goods and political influence through that process. Therefore we aim to bring together the frontier research on the economic inequality in the region asking the following questions: What does the available evidence suggest for the long-run tendency of income distribution? Did the first globalisation lead to change in land inequality? How did the ethnic differences relate to wealth gaps? Did the spatial gaps between regions change over time? How did the urban-rural differences evolve?

Session organisers welcome further contributions broadly on the economic inequalities in the Eastern Mediterranean.

Organizer(s)

  • Ulas Karakoc, Humboldt University Berlin, ulas.karakoc@hu-berlin.de, Germany
  • Alexandros Apostolides, European University Cyprus, A.Apostolides@euc.ac.cy, Cyprus

Session members

  • Sevket Pamuk, Bogazici University, pamuk@boun.edu.tr
  • Gunes Asik, TOBB University, gunesasik@gmail.com
  • Laura Panza, University of Melbourn, laura.panza@unimelb.edu.au
  • Alexis Antoniou, Bogazici University, portaris@gmail.com
  • Michalis Zaouras, University of Groningen, m.zaouras@rug.nl
  • Yiannis Kokkinakis, University of Crete , kokkinakis@uoc.gr
  • Tymon Słoczyński, Brandeis University, tslocz@brandeis.edu

Proposed discussant(s)

  • Bogac Ergene, University of Vermont, Bogac.Ergene@uvm.edu

This panel has Call for Papers open.
If you are interested in participating, please contact the panel organizer(s) to submit a proposal.

  • Ulas Karakoc, Humboldt University Berlin, ulas.karakoc@hu-berlin.de, Germany
  • Alexandros Apostolides, European University Cyprus, A.Apostolides@euc.ac.cy, Cyprus