Proposal preview

International credit and institutional transfers in the long 19th century

Our aim in this session is to analyse in a comparative way the transfer of economic and political institutions in the context of international credit relations in the 19th century. By ʻtransferʼ we do not only mean the export of “ready-made” institutions, but the process whereby institutions were reinterpreted, appropriated and negotiated. Our premise is that the strong links established around credit relations often brought about institutional transformations in debtor and creditor countries at diverse levels, beyond the organisation of public debt itself.
Acces to international credit and debt managemente often entailed reshaping the main framework of whole economies, especially through commercial and corporate law, bank regulation, industrial regulation, tariffs and customs, market (and especially financial market) organization, and taxation. Therefore the transfer of capital involved transfers of economic and legal institutions that were deeply political, affecting understandings of political economy, the position of political and economic elites, and popular conceptions of wealth, work, risk, production, etc. In that sense, credit relations contributed to shape political and economic representations, discourses and concepts, and were shaped by them in return.

Organizer(s)

  • Juan Pan-Montojo, Universidad Autónoma de Madrid, juanluis.pan@uam.es,
  • Nicolas Delalande, Institut d'Études Politiques, Paris, nicolas.delalande@sciencespo.fr,
  • Nicolas Barreyre, EHESS/CENA, Paris, nicolas.barreyre@ehess.fr,

Session members

  • Darina Martykánová, Universidad Autónoma de Madrid, darina.martykanova@uam.es
  • Momir Samardzic, Univerzitet u Novom Sadu, samomomir@yahoo.com
  • Juan Luis Simal Durán, Universidad Autónoma de Madrid, juan.simal@uam.es
  • Maria Christina Chatnziioannou, National Hellenic Research Foundation, marstina@eie.gr
  • Claudia Contente, Universitat Pompeu Fabra, Barcelona, claudia.contente@upf.edu
  • Anastassios Anastassiadis, McGill University / École française d’Athènes,
  • Andrés Vicent Fanconi, Universidad Autónoma de Madrid, am.vicentfanconi@gmail.com
  • Carmen García García, Universidad Autónoma de Madrid, carmen.garcia.garcia@uam.es
  • Magdalena Pinheiro, CIES-Instituto Universitário de Lisboa, magda.pinheiro@iscte.pt
  • Murat Mirdal, İstanbul Üniversitesi, muratbirdal@gmail.com
  • Leigh Gardner, London School of Economics and Political Sciences, l.a.gardner@lse.ac.uk
  • Malak Labib, American University of Cairo, malaklb@yahoo.com
  • Blaise Truong-Loï , Institut d'Études Politiques, Paris, blaise.truongloi@sciencespo.fr
  • Juan Flores Zendejas, Université de Geneve, Juan.Flores@unige.ch
  • Leonor Ludlow Wiechers, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México, ludlow.leonor@gmail.com
  • Daniele Bonfanti, Universidad de la República, Uruguay, tanobonfanti@gmail.com

Proposed discussant(s)

  • Marc Flandreau, The Graduate Institute of International and Development Studies, Geneva, marc.flandreau@graduateinstitute.ch