Proposal preview

INTERNATIONAL FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS: MULTILATERAL INVESTMENT AND DEVELOPMENT BANKS SINCE SECOND WORLD WAR

The evolution of financial markets and international banking institutions has been considered a key factor in the development of the world economy and regional integration (Eichengreen 2010). In principle, the higher the level of economic and financial integration, the greater the achieved economic benefits (Eichengreen 2007). For this reason, after the Second World War, International Financial Institutions (IFIs) were established in order to restore standards and rules for the operation of the global financial markets to promote growth and integration. IFIs such as the World Bank were created for this purpose (1944) while regional integration banks such as the European Investment Bank (EIB, 1958), the Inter-American Development Bank (IADB, 1959), the Central American Bank for Economic Integration (CABEI, 1960) and the Latin American Development Bank (CAF, 1968) followed, charged with the objective of facilitating access to global capital markets and to regional investment (Clifton et al. 2014a).

The role that IFIs have taken since post-war, as the World Bank on a global scale, and the EIB, IADB, CABEI, CAF, on a regional scale, should have led to the development of global financial markets and regional integration. However, while a significant body of work exists on the role of the World Bank as regards the development of nations and the globalization of financial markets (Alacevich 2009), relatively little is known about the regional IFIs, which should be key as regards the development and integration of their respective regions. This lack of historical studies can be explained by the fact that, until recently, these IFIs had not enough available information about its financial operations (Clifton et al. 2014b for the EIB, BID 2013). The recent opening of the historical archives of these regional financial institutions, as well as the opening of other archives of national development institutions (Rougier 2011), in addition to that of private banks, such as the Santander Bank Historical Archive, offers the possibility to collect their databases to perform a rigorous comparative historical analysis on the contribution of IFIs to national development, regional integration and globalisation. This is the aim of this session at the WEHC in Boston, 2018.

Organizer(s)

  • Daniel Díaz Fuentes , University of Cantabria, daniel.diaz@unican.es,
  • Judith Clifton, University of Cantabria, judith.clifton@unican.es,
  • David Howarth, University of Luxembourg, david.howarth@uni.lu,

Session members

  • Sarah Babb, Boston College, sarah.babb@bc.edu
  • Anthony Bartzokas, EBRD, Bartzoka@ebrd.com
  • Carlos Brando, Universidad de los Andes (Colombia), ca.brando@uniandes.edu.co
  • Judith Clifton, University of Cantabria, judith.clifton@unican.es
  • Francisco Comín, Universidad de Alcalá, cominco@telefonica.net
  • Lucia Coppolaro, University of Padova, lucia.coppolaro@unipd.it
  • Alberto Cortés, Universidad de Costa Rica, CABEI, acortes.ramos@gmail.com
  • Jose Cuesta, Unicef, jcuesta@unicef.org
  • Gustavo Del Angel, CIDE, gustavo.delangel@cide.edu
  • José Deras, BCIE, derasj@bcie.org
  • Daniel Díaz Fuentes, University of Cantabria, daniel.diaz@unican.es
  • Antonio Fernández Álvarez, Univ. Autónoma de Madrid, a.fernandez.alvarez@uam.es
  • E. Valpy FitzGerald, University of Oxford, edmund.fitzgerald@qeh.ox.ac.uk
  • Juan Huitzilihuitl Flores Zendejas, University of Geneva, juan.flores@unige.ch
  • Jose Luis García Ruiz, Universidad Complutense de Madrid, jlgarciaruiz@ccee.ucm.es
  • Ana Lara Gómez, University of Cantabria, analara.gomez@unican.es
  • David Howarth, University of Luxembourg, david.howarth@uni.lu
  • Chris Humphrey, University of Zurich, christopher.humphrey@pw.uzh.ch
  • Helen Kavvadia, University of Luxembourg, helen.kavvadia@ext.uni.lu
  • Claudia Kedar, Hebrew University of Jerusalem, claudia.kedar@mail.huji.ac.il
  • Pierre Lanthier, Université du Québec, Canada, Pierre.Lanthier@uqtr.ca
  • Moritz Liebe, University of Luxembourg, moritz.liebe@uni.lu
  • Justin Lin Yifu, Peking University, World Bank, justinlin@ccer.pku.edu.cn
  • Pablo López, Universidad de Buenos Aires (UBA), palopez77@gmail.com
  • Carlos Marichal, Colegio de México, cmarichals@gmail.com
  • Stefano Palestini , Freie Universität Berlin, Stefano.Palestini@EUI.eu
  • Helmut Reisen, Shifting Wealth Consulting, hr@shiftingwealth.com
  • Germán Rios, CAF, GRIOS@CAF.com
  • Stephen D. Roper, Florida Atlantic University, ropers@fau.edu
  • Marcelo Rougier, Universidad de Buenos Aires, marcelorougier@yahoo.com.ar
  • Dane Rowlands, Carleton University, Canada, DaneRowlands@Cunet.Carleton.Ca
  • Juan José Ruiz, Inter-American Development Bank, JJRUIZ@iadb.org
  • Yan Wang, George Washington University, ywang2005b@gmail.com
  • Jiajun Xu, Peking University, jiajunxu@nsd.pku.edu.cn

Proposed discussant(s)

  • Youssef Cassis, European University Institute, Youssef.Cassis@eui.eu
  • Carlos Marichal, Colegio de México, cmarichals@gmail.com
  • Pablo Martín Aceña, Universidad de Alcalá, pablo.martin@uah.es

This panel has Call for Papers open.
If you are interested in participating, please contact the panel organizer(s) to submit a proposal.

  • Daniel Díaz Fuentes , University of Cantabria, daniel.diaz@unican.es,
  • Judith Clifton, University of Cantabria, judith.clifton@unican.es,
  • David Howarth, University of Luxembourg, david.howarth@uni.lu,