Proposal preview

Lessons from Insurance History: Markets, Regulation and Globalization

Insurance has always been a dynamic and changing market, evolving as new risks, technologies, products, and managerial practices have emerged. The growth in insurance markets is historically connected to the emergence of new risks, increasing standards of living and the emergence of new technologies. The insurance industry has experienced increased competition from other financial sector players particularly from the 1980s. In return it has ventured into new and emerging markets. The object of this session is to analyse the long-term patterns of transformation in insurance markets with particular reference to the drivers of change such as technology, regulation and trends in globalization. In parallel, contributions focusing on growth strategies, forms of competition and cooperation between companies and their links to distribution channels are welcomed. Studies on the impact of new products and the role of marketing in the expansion of the insurance industry are also of interest.

Organizer(s)

  • Monica Keneley, Deakin University, mkeneley@deakin.edu.au, Australia
  • Jerònia Pons Pons , University of Seville, jpons@us.es, Spain

Session members

  • Robin Pearson, University of Hull, r.pearson@hull.ac.uk
  • Takau Yoneyama, Tokyo Keizai University, t.yoneyama@r.hit-u.ac.jp
  • Greitjie Verhoef, University of Johannesburg, gverhoef@uj.ac.za
  • Mikael Lönnborg , Södertörn University, mikael.lonnborg@sh.se
  • Leonardo Caruana, , Universidad de Granada, lrcaruana@gmail.com
  • Pablo Gutiérrez, Universidad of Seville, pgutierrez1@us.es
  • YingYing Jiang, Hitotsubashi University , yycommerce@hotmail.com
  • Jean Kwon, St Johns University , kwonw@stjohns.edu

Proposed discussant(s)

  • Greitjie Verhoef, University of Johannesburg, gverhoef@uj.ac.za
  • Mikael Lönnborg , Södertörn University, mikael.lonnborg@sh.se
  • Pablo Gutiérrez, Universidad of Seville, pgutierrez1@us.es

This panel has Call for Papers open.
If you are interested in participating, please contact the panel organizer(s) to submit a proposal.

  • Monica Keneley, Deakin University, mkeneley@deakin.edu.au, Australia
  • Jerònia Pons Pons , University of Seville, jpons@us.es, Spain