Proposal preview

Long-term regional income inequality in the core and the periphery

In recent years, research on the long-term evolution of regional economies has received special attention, in particular within European and other developed countries. As a result of collective work, historical estimates of regional GDPs for a large number of European countries over the 20th century will soon be available (Rosés and Wolf, forthcoming). This information allows not only for the assessment of the evolution of regional income inequalities within countries but also the study of its determinants. The results show that the present-day economic geography of Europe and the USA is the result of a long and complex process in which both economic and historical causes have played their role.
There are deep underlying forces explaining contemporaneous regional inequality. The most basic are related with initial factor and resource endowments (Heckscher-Ohlin model) while at a second level we find forces arising from the evolution of agglomeration economies (New Economic Geography). The interaction of these components takes place in a context with important variations in transportation costs and the degree of international and interregional economic integration. Following a successful session at the 2015 Kyoto WEHC, this session aims to gather together researchers working on the Americas, with a special focus on Latin America. This new research has the potential to provide a new perspective on the economic history of this area and to offer new insights on how the above forces interact in core and non-core countries. Research focused on Asia, Africa or Oceania is also very welcome. The new evidence will allow for a comparison between these experiences and those from Europe. In that sense, the existence of abundant natural resources and industrial backwardness in most of these countries offers a setting in which not only the evolution of spatial disparities may be different in the economic periphery but the driving forces behind its evolution may also differ.

Organizer(s)

  • Marc Badia-MIró, Universitat de Barcelona, mbadia@ub.edu, Spain
  • Esteban Nicolini, Universidad Nacional de Tucumán, esteban.nicolini@gmail.com, Argentina
  • Julio Martinez-Galarraga, Universitat de València, julio.martinez-galarraga@uv.es, Spain

Session members

  • Florencia Araoz, Universidad del Norte Santo Tomás de Aquino, faraoz@unsta.edu.ar
  • Erik Buyst, University of Leuven, erik.buyst@kuleuven.be
  • Alfonso Díez-Minguela, Universitat de València, alfonso.diez@uv.es
  • Kerstin Enflo, Lund University, kerstin.enflo@ekh.lu.se
  • Emanuele Felice, Università degli Studi G. d’Annunzio, Chieti-Pescara, emanuele.felice@gmail.com
  • Anna Missiaia, Lund University, anna.missiaia@ekh.lu.se
  • José Alejandro Peres Cajías, Universidad Católica Boliviana, joseperescajias@gmail.com
  • Adrián Rodríguez Miranda, Universidad de la República, adrianrodriguezuy@gmail.com
  • Joan R. Rosés, London School of Economics, J.R.Roses@lse.ac.uk
  • Maria Teresa Sanchis Llopis, Universitat de València, M.Teresa.Sanchis@uv.es
  • Bruno Seminario, Universidad del Pacífico, lbseminario@gmail.com
  • Daniel A. Tirado, Universitat de València, Daniel.Tirado@uv.es
  • Henry Willebald, Universidad de la República, hwillebald@gmail.com

Proposed discussant(s)

  • , ,