Proposal preview

Multinationals and the Transformation of the World Economy’

The purpose of this session is to address the gap in the literature about our understanding of the role of multinational enterprises in the transformation of the world economy from the mid-to-late nineteenth century until the present. This session will show how important it is to factor in the multinational enterprise when we think of major developments and the contours of the modern world. Multinationals did not merely contribute capital. They also had a significant role on a global scale in the management and allocation of human resources, technology, information, intellectual property, research and development, marketing, and other specialist knowledge such as engineering for mines and numerous other projects and for infrastructure. They spread manufacturing globally. Multinationals are neither heroes nor villains. Their contribution has been and continues to be that of a key entrepreneurial role in transforming the modern world, by reshaping economies, but also changing social and cultural norms.

Organizer(s)

  • Mira Wilkins, Florida International University, wilkinsm@fiu.edu ,
  • Teresa da Silva Lopes, University of York, teresa.lopes@york.ac.uk,

Session members

  • Lou Galambos, Johns Hopkins University , galambos@jhu.edu
  • Patrick Fridenson, École des Hautes Etudes en Sciences Sociale, Patrick.Fridenson@ehess.fr
  • Kazuo Wada, University of Tokyo , wadak@e.u-tokyo.ac.jp
  • Chris Kobrak, University of Toronto , Chris.Kobrak@rotman.utoronto.ca
  • Niels V. Haueter, Hitotsubashi University , Swiss Re, NielsViggo_Haueter@swissre.com
  • Heidi Tworek, University of British Columbia , heidi.tworek@ubc.ca
  • Matthias Kipping, York University , mkipping@schulich.yorku.ca
  • Ray Stokes, University of Glasgow, Ray.Stokes@glasgow.ac.uk
  • Geoffrey Jones, Harvard Business School, gjones@hbs.edu

Proposed discussant(s)

  • Takafumi Kurozawa, University of Kyoto, kurosawa@econ.kyoto-u.ac.jp
  • Espen Storli, Norwegian University of Science and Technology , espen.storli@ntnu.no
  • Andrea Colli, Bocconi University , andrea.colli@unibocconi.it
  • David Merrett, University of Melbourne , dtm@unimelb.edu.au
  • Richard John, Columbia University, rrj2115@columbia.edu
  • Pierre-Yves Donzé, Osaka University , py.donze@gmail.com
  • Youssef Cassis, University of Florence, Youssef.Cassis@EUI.eu
  • Ben Gomes-Casseres, Brandeis University , bgc@brandeis.edu