Proposal preview

New research using linked census data: Scandinavia and the U.S.

In recent years there has been a revolution in data digitization and record linkage. Massive data sources have become available thanks to projects such as IPUMS and NAPP. More recently increased efforts have been made to make full count data public through the digitalization, harmonization and dissemination of historical census data from all over the world. This development has also led to major advances in record linkage, making it possible to follow individuals between censuses and individual-level birth, migration and death records. These new data opens completely new frontiers for research in economic history and historical demography. It is now possible to study the complete life course of individuals in different periods and geographic contexts, following individuals both within and between countries. The time has come to move beyond methodological issues and to discuss actual research. The aim of this session is to showcase the potential of these data for advancing knowledge on major issues in economic history. More specifically the session will present research on demographic outcomes and social mobility, using linked records from full-count individual level census data. The papers cover different contexts and different research questions, but are all based on new linked individual-level data.

Organizer(s)

  • Martin Dribe, Lund University, martin.dribe@ekh.lu.se, Sweden
  • Björn Eriksson, Lund University, bjorn.eriksson@ekh.lu.se, Sweden

Session members

  • Anna Aizer, Brown University, Anna_Aizer@brown.edu
  • Martin Dribe , Lund University, martin.dribe@ekh.lu.se
  • Shari Eli, University of Toronto, shari.eli@utoronto.ca
  • Björn Eriksson, Lund University, bjorn.eriksson@ekh.lu.se
  • Katherine Eriksson, University of California, Davis, kaeriksson@ucdavis.edu
  • Jonas Helgertz, Lund University and University of Minnesota, jonas.helgertz@ekh.lu.se
  • Adriana Lleras-Muney, University of California, Los Angeles, alleras@econ.ucla.edu
  • Jörgen Modalsli, Statistics Norway, Jorgen.Modalsli@ssb.no

Proposed discussant(s)

  • , ,