Proposal preview

Popularizing Fabrics and Clothing, 17th to 19th centuries: Materiality, Value Formation and Technology.

This session aims to explore the manufacture and circulation of cheaper, lighter-weight fabrics and their use in clothing from the 17th to the 19th centuries. It aims to “materialize” the subject, by examining the material composition of these textiles using digital technologies, as well as investigating economic value and pricing at different stages of their manufacture and circulation. The session will consider not just finished textiles, but differentiation of raw materials, production of yarns, grading of semi-finished materials, and circulation of secondhand clothing. It embraces a variety of textile centers in Italy, the Netherlands, England, France, Switzerland, India, Japan and North America, linking them to each other. The session will be an interdisciplinary encounter between economic historians, cultural historians, and art and design curators.

Organizer(s)

  • Miki Sugiura, Hosei University, msugiura@hosei.ac.jp,
  • John Styles, University of Hertfordshire, j.a.styles@herts.ac.uk,

Session members

  • Linda Eaton , Winterthur Museum, Delaware University, leaton@winterthur.org
  • Naoko Inoue, Josai University, naoko@zj8.so-net.ne.jp
  • Emanuella Scarpellini, University of Milan, emanuela.scarpellini@unimi.it
  • Alexis Schwarzenbach, Lucerne University of Applied Science and Arts, alexis.schwarzenbach@hslu.ch
  • , ,

Proposed discussant(s)

  • Giorgio Riello , Warwick University, G.Riello@warwick.ac.uk