Proposal preview

The Debt Crisis of the 1980s, Banking, and the Private Sector in Latin America

This session aims to take advantage of the growing availability of archives, including those of the IMF and banks in Europe, the United States, and Latin America, which permit a reinterpretation of the debt crisis of the 1980s. The papers will emphasise the behaviour that led to it, the attempts made to manage the crisis, and the outcomes.

Organizer(s)

  • Rory M Miller, University of Liverpool, rory@liverpool.ac.uk,
  • Martín Monsalve, Universidad del Pacífico, Lima, monsalve_ma@up.edu.pe,
  • Edoardo Altamura, Cambridge University, edoardo.altamura@unige.ch,

Session members

  • Sebastián Alvarez, University of Geneva, sebastian.alvarez@unige.ch
  • Paul Kershaw, Harvard University, pkershaw1@gmail.com
  • Juan Flores, University of Geneva, juan.flores@unige.ch
  • Raúl García Heras, Universidad de Buenos Aires, rgarciaheras@conicet.edu.ar
  • Claudia Kedar, Hebrew University, Jerusalem, claudia.kedar@mail.huji.ac.il
  • Matthias Kipping, York University, Canada, mkipping@bell.net
  • Manuel Llorca-Jana, Universidad de Santiago, Chile, manuel.llorca@usach.cl
  • Simone Selva, L'Orientale Universita di Napoli, Italy, sselva@unior.it

Proposed discussant(s)

  • Rory M , Miller, rory@liverpool.ac.uk