Proposal preview

The Economic History of the Sports Sector

The sports sector is one that not only generates the interest of fans. It is an important and large sector in the world economy and generates large revenues, investments, and high levels of government involvement. Most sporting leagues developed along national lines however individual sports quickly developed an international market and broadcast media was increasing access for consumers from the 1920s. Over the past century in particular, the importance of the sector and the international nature of its market has become evident. This session brings together scholars in the field of economic history and sports economics who will present on a range of economic issues. Our previous session at the WEHC in Kyoto yielded a publication through Edward Elgar (Sports Through the Lens of Economic History). We intend to further develop and extend this work in the proposed session.

Organizer(s)

  • John K Wilson, University of South Australia, john.wilson@unisa.edu.au, Australia
  • Richard Pomfret, University of Adelaide, richard.pomfret@adelaide.edu.au, Australia

Session members

  • Luc Borrowman, Monash University (Malaysia), luc.borrowman@monash.edu
  • Lionel Frost, Monash University, Lionel.Frost@monash.edu
  • Abdel Halabi, Federation University, abdel.halabi@federation.edu.au
  • Kris Inwood, University of Guelph, kinwood@uoguelph.ca
  • Akihiko Kawaura, Doshisha University, akawaura@mail.doshisha.ac.jp
  • Sumner La Croix, University of Hawaii, lacroix@hawaii.edu
  • Victor Matheson, College of the Holy Cross, vmatheso@holycross.edu
  • J. Andrew Ross, University of Guelph / Library and Archives Canada,
  • Stefan Szymanski, University of Michigan, stefansz@umich.edu
  • Wray Vamplew, University of Stirling / Manchester Metropolitan University, W.Vamplew@mmu.ac.uk
  • Wladamir Andreff, Universite Paris 1 Sorbonne, andreff@club-internet.fr
  • Joe Price, Brigham Young University, joseph_price@byu.edu

Proposed discussant(s)

  • John Siegfried, Vanderbilt University, john.siegfried@vanderbilt.edu