Proposal preview

The State as Entrepreneur in Historical Perspective

The State is typically the largest actor in national economies. In addition to regulation, and investment in public goods, state-owned enterprises have predominated. We propose to re-orient our understanding of SOEs by studying their underlying purposes within the broader scope of national political economies as well as in correcting market failures; complementing private endeavors and providing goods and services to marginalized or emerging sectors of society. A wide geographic and chronological range of studies serves to highlight underlying commonalities of the logic and goals of SOEs, while emphasizing the diversity of their organizational forms, governance structures and outcomes

Organizer(s)

  • Gail Triner, Rutgers University, gtriner@gmail.com, USA
  • Aurora Gómez-Galvarriato, El Colegio de México, agalvarriato@colmex.mx, Mexico
  • Graciela Márquez, El Colegio de México, gmarquez@colmex.mx, Mexico

Session members

  • Aldo Mussachio, Brandais University, aldom@brandais.edu
  • Gail Triner, Rutgers University, gtriner@gmail.com
  • Marcelo Rougier, Universidad Torcuato di Tella, marcelorougier@yahoo.com.ar
  • Juan Odisio, UNAM, odisio@gmail.com
  • Stephanie Decker, Aston University, s.decker@aston.ac.uk
  • Marcelo Bucheli, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, mbucheli@illinois.edu
  • Andrés Regalsky, Universidad Torcuato di Tella, regalsky@utdt.edu
  • Morris Bian, Auburn University, bianmor@gmail.com
  • Daniel Díaz-Fuentes, Universidad de Cantabria, daniel.diaz@unican.es
  • Judith Clifton, Universidad de Cantabria, judith.clifton@unican.edu
  • Ana Lara Gómez, Universidad de Cantabria, analara.gomez@unicam.es
  • Shakila Yacob, University of Malasya, shakila@um.edu.my
  • Laura Panza, University of Melbourne, laura.panza@unimelb.edu.au
  • Ulas Karacok, Humboldt University, ulas.karacok@hu-be.de
  • Aurora Gómez-Galvarriato, El Colegio de México, agalvarriato@colmex.mx
  • Graciela Márquez, El Colegio de México, gmarquez@colmex.mx

Proposed discussant(s)

  • Gail Triner, Rutgers University, gtriner@gmail.com
  • Aurora Gómez-Galvarriato, El Colegio de México, agalvarriato@colmex.mx
  • Graciela Márquez, El Colegio de México, gmarquez@colmex.mx