Proposal preview

Trade and Technology

How do trade and technological progress interact to generate economic growth and determine the spatial distribution of production? This is a question that lies at the heart of our understanding of globalization, with implications for the ongoing debate over the use of trade and industrial policy. This session brings together papers looking at the relationship between trade and technological progress in a wide set of industries, locations, and time periods. While they are drawn from a variety of empirical settings, the papers in this session are unified by their approach, which involves developing a deep understanding of specific industries. By bringing together detailed studies covering a diverse set of industries, this session can help illuminate common patterns that improve our understanding of the relationship between trade and technology.

The topics covered in our session include the effects of (i) shipping technology on seaborne trade costs and the shipping industry since the XVIth century, (ii) pasteurization on the location of American breweries during the XIXth century, (iii) railroad expansion on the adoption of steam engines in Japan during the XIXth century, (iv) scientific research on American agriculture during the XXth century, (v) railroad gauge standards on the American railroad industry during the XXth Century, and (vi) relational contracts on the location and technology adoption of American car makers during the XXth century.

Organizer(s)

  • Carlos Eduardo Hernandez, Universidad de los Andes School of Management, carlosehernandez@uniandes.edu.co, Colombia
  • Walker Hanlon, NYU Stern School of Business, walker.hanlon@gmail.com, USA

Session members

  • Alex Whalley, University of Calgary, awhalley@gmail.com
  • Carlos Eduardo Hernandez, Universidad de los Andes School of Management, carlosehernandez@uniandes.edu.co
  • Claudia Rei, Vanderbilt University, claudia.rei@vanderbilt.edu
  • Daniel Gross, Harvard Business School, dgross@hbs.edu
  • Junichi Yamasaki, Kobe University, yamasaki@econ.kobe-u.ac.jp
  • Nicholas Ziebarth, Auburn University, nicolas.lehmannziebarth@gmail.com
  • Stig Tenold, Norwegian School of Economics, Stig.Tenold@nhh.no
  • Walker Hanlon, NYU Stern School of Business, walker.hanlon@gmail.com
  • Xavier Duran, Universidad de los Andes School of Management, xh.duran21@uniandes.edu.co

Proposed discussant(s)

  • Claudia Steinwender, Harvard Business School, csteinwender@hbs.edu
  • Dan Bogart, UC Irvine, dbogart@uci.edu
  • Florian Ploeckl, University of Adelaide, florian.ploeckl@adelaide.edu.au

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.